The Temora Aviation Museum, which is clearly signposted from the centre of town, was created and financed by David Lowy, son of Frank Lowy of Westfied shopping centres fame in the late 1990s.
Lowy’s aim was to create “an aviation museum dedicated to aircraft and pilots who had defended Australia.” Temora was ideal. It was rich in aviation history, had a co-operative local council, flat terrain and uncontrolled air space below 20,000 feet.
The Museum was incorporated in late 1999. The first hangar was completed in February 2000 and Lowy donated the initial aircraft for the collection. The Museum was opened for public viewing in June 2000 and construction commenced on the exhibition buildings which contain display spaces, a theatrette, gift shop, a children’s playground and picnic area. These were completed and opened to the public in August 2001.
In November 2002 a 1,980 square metre display hangar was completed. It now houses all the aircraft. The aircraft are kept in working condition and taken out for Air Shows.
There are usually two shows a month. The aeroplanes include a Supermarine Spitfire Mk VIII and Mk XVI, a Gloster Meteor F.8, an English Electric Canberra TT.18, a DH-115 Vampire T35, two Cessna A37B Dragonflys, a Cessna O-2A, a CA-16 Wirraway, a CA-13 Boomerang, a Lockheed Hudson, an RAAF CA-27 Sabre, a Ryan STM S2, a DH-82A Tiger Moth and a Cessna 0-1G Bird Dog.The museum is located at Temora Aerodrome which was the base, in World War II, of the largest RAAF Elementary Flying Training School, which trained 2,741 pilots between May 1941 and May 1945.
The exhibits in the museum include Unsung Heroes, The History of the Commonwealth Aircraft Corporation, The Magic of Flight, The RAAF in Korea and CAC Sabre. There is also a tribute to No. 10 Elementary Flying Training School, Martin Baker Ejection Seats and the Women’s Australian Auxilliary Air Force. For more information check out http://www.aviationmuseum.com.au.
Address: 1 Tom Moon Avenue, Temora, NSW, 2666
Phone: (02) 6977 1088
One of the interesting attractions in Temora is the Temora Railway Museum. Housed in the newly refurbished Railway Precinct, Railway Temora boasts a growing yet comprehensive display of railway memorabilia. Some of the collection dates back to when the Temora Railway Station was first established in 1893.
The collection is all arranged throughout the original railway station building that has been recently renovated.
Learn about ‘Boofhead’ a long-legged black and white fox terrier that became known as Temora’s railway dog.
He rode trains from Goulburn in the east to lake Cargelligo in the west during the 1960s and became a legend of the rail network.
A bronzed statue of Boofhead was unveiled on March 17, 2018, along with a walking trail of the railway yard.
Address: Camp Street, Temora, NSW
Phone: (02) 6977 1086