Search

Attractions in Narromine

 

Be the first to review

Narromine Aviation Museum

Narromine Aviation Museum - Country Airstrips Australia

Gliding and flying attract large numbers of people to the area every year. The local aerodrome (4 km west of town, on the Mitchell Highway) houses the nation’s oldest country aero club.

The club, which has played host to personalities as diverse Charles Kingsford Smith, Charles Ulm, Chuck Yeager and Nancy Bird Walton was established shortly after World War I. Nearly 3,000 pilots were trained here during World War II when the aerodrome was commandeered by the Department of Defence.

The Narromine Aviation Museum tells the story of a century of aviation in the Narromine area. The exhibits include the scrapbook from the Aero Club; a collection of photographs from the 1920s and 1930s of the visitors to the airport; a Rolls Royce Merlin 25 aero engine; a diorama model of the aerodrome during World War II and “Displayed in the museum’s new wing are three aircraft believed to be unique in the world:
* The only flyable replica of the 1907 Wright Flyer Model A (2005);
* An original Corben Super Ace homebulit (1938);
* An original Hawkridge Venture glider (1953).”

The Museum is open from 10.00 am – 4.00 pm six days a week (closed Tuesdays), tel: .

Address: Narromine Airport, Mitchell Hwy, Narromine
Phone: (02) 6889 7131

Narromine’s Historic Pubs

Courthouse Hotel Narromine - Country Airstrips Australia
The Courthouse Hotel, Narromine

When looking for attractions in Narromine, an interesting walk is to visit the town’s historic pubs.

Narromine has four hotels which are over 110 years old. The single-storey Royal Hotel, in Dandaloo Street, was built in 1890 and was an old Cobb & Co stopping point.

The Narromine Hotel, also in Dandaloo Street, was built as the Federal Hotel in 1901 and has some particularly attractive ironwork on the upper veranda. It is a classic turn of the century country hotel.

The Imperial Hotel in Burroway Street dates from 1883 and the Court House Hotel, with its elaborate ironwork veranda, dates from 1899.